The Letters, Kwang-Ho, Cheong |Art Stage

Reported by Trixie

This is a brass sculpture named, The Letters by Kwang-Ho, Cheong, 2009.

I came across this brass scupture when I visited the Art Stage exhibition at the Marina Bay Sands.

When I saw this sculpture, the memories when doing a wire sculpture during my common foundation came to mind. At that moment I thought,’ Is it handmade or machine made?’ I find this sculpture very interesting as the shadows formed by the lights created the effects of the words on the wall behind it.

This sculpture gives the environment around it a traditional Chinese feeling. I feel that through this sculpture, the artist not only wants to emphasize on the shadows created, but also the meaning of the Chinese characters.

Leave a Reply

